Comparison
Metamucil vs ColonBroom: the same fiber at different prices
ColonBroom — often written Colon Broom — and Metamucil are both psyllium husk. ColonBroom’s label puts 3.6 g of psyllium in a scoop; Metamucil’s single-serve packet declares approximately 3.4 g. Both deliver 3 g of total fiber and 2 g of soluble fiber per serving. Once you know that, the useful comparison is cost, format and how each one is sold.

The short answer
Metamucil 4-in-1 Fiber Powder, Sugar-Free Orange
$0.22–0.25 a dose · 4.6★ from 7,984 ratings at Walmart Business
The same active fiber at roughly the same dose per serving, for a third to a seventh of the cost. It carries a full over-the-counter drug label filed with the FDA, with the warning set printed on the pack, and it is sold over the counter so returns go back to the shop.
- You want psyllium and you want it to be boring
- You would rather buy it off a shelf than manage a plan
- You do not mind aspartame and Yellow 6
ColonBroom
$0.67–1.33 a serving · 4.0★ from 3,677 reviews at Trustpilot
The same active fiber in a flavored powder sweetened with stevia and colored with fruit and vegetable juice rather than aspartame and Yellow 6, which is a cleaner sweetener and coloring story than Metamucil has. It is sold direct, mainly on recurring-delivery plans, and the per-serving price depends on how many bottles you commit to.
- Stevia rather than aspartame, no artificial color
- Sold on recurring plans by default; cheapest tier needs a six-bottle commitment
- Strawberry flavored rather than orange
Not sure which of the two fits you? The quiz asks about your symptoms before it names one.
What this page is and is not. Both products contain the same evidence-backed fiber, and we have no reason to think either powder will not work. This is a comparison of dose, price, format and published terms, taken from each company’s own label and policy pages. We are not making any judgment about either business.
Side by side
✓ marks the product with the advantage on that row. Rows with no mark are a genuine tie or a matter of preference.
Where they differ
1. The fiber is the same, so the price difference is buying something else
3.6 g of psyllium against approximately 3.4 g. Both deliver 3 g of total fiber and 2 g of soluble fiber per serving. Every study either product can point to is a psyllium study. In the meta-analysis of 16 fiber trials in 1,251 people with chronic constipation, psyllium was the fiber with the clearest effect. The American College of Gastroenterology names psyllium the only fiber supplement with sufficient evidence to recommend. 28 trials in 1,924 people show LDL down 0.33 mmol/L. That evidence belongs to the ingredient rather than to either brand. What the price difference buys is flavor, sweetener choice, format and convenience — not a different or stronger fiber.
2. What each one costs per serving
ColonBroom’s plans page prices a bottle at $39.99 for 30 servings on the monthly plan — $1.33 a serving — falling to $0.67 a serving on the six-bottle plan. Its Walmart listing works out at about $1.00 a serving and the GNC listing at about $1.50. The label dose is two scoops a day after the first week, so $1.33 to $2.67 a day depending on which plan you are on. Metamucil at $0.22–0.25 a dose runs $0.66–0.75 a day at three doses. Plain unflavored psyllium husk powder runs $0.31 for a 7 g serving, which is twice the fiber of either.
3. How each one is sold
This is the practical difference for most people. Metamucil is a one-off retail purchase: you buy a tub, and if you do not get on with it you take it back to the shop. ColonBroom is sold direct, and its plans page presents recurring deliveries as the default option, with a one-time purchase also available at a higher per-serving price.
Its published terms are worth reading before you choose a plan, and we would say the same about any subscription. The cancellation policy states that if you cancel before the first recurring charge, “as you were offered the discounted price, you should pay the difference between the subscription and a one-time order.” The refund policy gives 14 days from delivery for products “proven to be not as described or faulty,” asks for photo evidence, and states that in the US and Canada “the shipping label costs $15… so this sum will be deducted from your refund.” It also states that refunds are issued for an initial purchase rather than for recurring subscription deliveries. Buying does not automatically create an account, so managing a plan means registering separately with the order email. None of that is unusual for a direct-to-consumer subscription; it is just materially different from buying a tub in a supermarket, and it is the thing to know in advance.
4. What each company claims
Metamucil carries an FDA-authorized health claim about soluble fiber and coronary heart disease, and its pack states the per-serving amount that claim depends on.
ColonBroom’s homepage cites figures of 83% losing weight within 10 weeks, 82% reducing food cravings in the first week and 90% seeing relief from bloating by week two. The company discloses the basis for these on the same page: “a self-reported survey conducted over 10 weeks with ColonBroom Premium,” adding that “no clinical trials have been conducted on other ColonBroom products at this time.” We are quoting that disclosure rather than characterizing it, so you can weigh a self-reported survey against a randomized trial yourself. For context on what psyllium’s randomized evidence covers: it is strongest for stool frequency, stool consistency and LDL cholesterol. Gel-forming fiber can blunt appetite, and Metamucil markets a two-teaspoon appetite-control dose on that basis, so fiber and appetite is a real connection — but weight loss is not where psyllium’s trial evidence is strongest.
5. The rating figures do not match across sources
Worth flagging because it affects how much weight to give any single number. ColonBroom’s own site cites 12,375 reviews without a star average alongside it. Trustpilot shows 4.0 out of 5 from 3,677 reviews. Its Walmart marketplace listing shows none yet, and the GNC listing for the Premium version shows four. We use the Trustpilot figure on this page because it is the largest independently hosted one we could verify, and we are flagging the discrepancy rather than picking the most flattering number. Metamucil’s 4.6 from 7,984 ratings comes from Walmart Business.
6. One label difference to be aware of
ColonBroom’s retail label carries a California Proposition 65 lead warning. For context, that is a California disclosure requirement rather than a finding that a product is harmful, and it appears on a great many supplements, foods and consumer goods sold in that state — particularly plant-derived ones, which take up trace minerals from soil. Metamucil’s label does not state one. If you would rather avoid Proposition 65 labeling altogether, it is a point of difference; it is not evidence that either product is unsafe.
What we would buy
NOW Foods Psyllium Husk Powder
$0.31 a day · 4.7★ from 23,144 ratings at iHerb
Psyllium husk powder and nothing else, with 7 g of fiber in a serving — roughly twice either branded scoop — at a lower cost per gram of fiber. A one-off purchase with no plan to manage. Non-GMO Project Verified and GMP Quality Assured.
- The honest downside: unflavored, and it gels fast enough that you need to drink it quickly
Metamucil
$0.22–0.25 a dose
Sugar-free orange, sold everywhere, with the full warning set on the pack. You are accepting aspartame and Yellow 6 in exchange for something you will drink.
- Available in single-serve packets
ColonBroom is not sold through a retailer we link, so we have not linked it. If you want to look at it yourself, its Trustpilot page is here and prices are on the brand’s own site. Figures on this page were read from each company’s published label, pricing and policy pages and may change.
Read the full research
Common questions
Is Colon Broom the same as ColonBroom?
Yes. The product is sold as ColonBroom, one word; Colon Broom is how most people type it. This page uses the brand’s spelling.
Is ColonBroom the same as Metamucil?
The fiber is the same. ColonBroom’s label puts 3.6 g of psyllium husk in a scoop; Metamucil’s single-serve packet declares approximately 3.4 g, and both deliver 3 g of total fiber and 2 g of soluble fiber a serving. They differ in price, flavoring, how they are sold and what each company claims.
Is ColonBroom better than Metamucil?
Not on the fiber, because it is the same fiber at almost the same dose, so every trial either can point to is a psyllium trial. ColonBroom costs more per serving ($1.33 on the monthly plan against $0.22 to $0.25 a Metamucil dose) and is sold mainly by subscription. Metamucil is a one-off retail purchase.
How much does ColonBroom cost compared with Metamucil?
ColonBroom’s plans page lists $39.99 for 30 servings on the monthly plan, $1.33 a serving, falling to $0.67 on the six-bottle plan; at the label dose of two scoops a day that is $1.33 to $2.67 a day. Metamucil runs $0.66 to $0.75 a day at three doses. Plain psyllium husk powder gives twice the fiber of either for less.
Does ColonBroom work for weight loss?
The figures on ColonBroom’s homepage (83% losing weight in 10 weeks, 90% relief from bloating by week two) come, by the company’s own disclosure, from a self-reported survey of ColonBroom Premium users, and it states no clinical trials have been conducted on its other products. Psyllium’s randomized evidence is for stool frequency, stool consistency and LDL cholesterol.
Why does ColonBroom have a Proposition 65 warning?
Its retail label carries a California Proposition 65 lead warning. That is a California disclosure requirement that appears on many plant-derived supplements and foods sold in the state; it is not a finding that the product is harmful. Metamucil’s label does not state one.
Can I cancel a ColonBroom subscription?
Yes, but read the published terms first: cancelling before the first recurring charge means paying the difference between the discounted subscription price and a one-time order, refunds are for products proven faulty or not as described within 14 days with photo evidence, and in the US and Canada a $15 shipping label is deducted from the refund.
In one line: Metamucil 4-in-1 Fiber Powder, Sugar-Free Orange — between these two, on cost.
Which fiber for constipation, on one page
Which fibers have the trials, the dose that worked, and how to take it without the gas. Sent by email, then two short follow-ups over ten days. Unsubscribe any time.
Your address is used for these three emails and nothing else. How we handle it.
Speak to a doctor first if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, trying to conceive, immune-suppressed, or taking prescription medication — and before starting anything if you have blood in your stool, unexplained weight loss, persistent vomiting, or pain severe enough to wake you at night. Those are signs to get looked at, not to try a supplement.
Not sure a fiber is the right category?
Our quiz asks about your symptoms, gives you an answer on the same page, and never asks for an email to see it. If a fiber is not the right category for you, it says so.
Find your match →Free · Private · No sign-up · 1–3 minutes
Related guides
Other comparisons
Where these numbers come from
- ColonBroom ingredients, psyllium per scoop, dosing, warnings — colonbroom.com/ingredients
- ColonBroom plans page: prices and plan tiers — colonbroom.com/organic/plans/original
- ColonBroom homepage: survey figures and the disclosure of their basis — www.colonbroom.com
- ColonBroom refund policy: 14 days, $15 shipping label deduction — help.colonbroom.com/hc/en-us/articles/4407704825617-Refund-pol
- ColonBroom cancellation policy: paying the difference before the first rebill — help.colonbroom.com/hc/en-us/articles/26532266032913-What-are-
- Trustpilot: 4.0 from 3,677 reviews — www.trustpilot.com/review/colonbroom.com
- ColonBroom Walmart listing: 50 servings, $49.99 — www.walmart.com/ip/ColonBroom-Psyllium-Husk-Powder-Strawberry-
- Retail label PDF: 3.6 g psyllium, Proposition 65 lead warning, 40 servings — www.gnc.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-GNC2-Library/default/
- Metamucil supplement facts, per-dose price, cholesterol claim — www.heb.com/product-detail/metamucil-4-in-1-psyllium-husk-fibe
- Metamucil OTC drug label: 3.4 g psyllium per packet, full warnings — dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?setid=a9824f73-5ea2
- Constipation meta-analysis, 16 trials, 1,251 people — pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/35816465
- Psyllium LDL meta-analysis, 28 trials, 1,924 people — pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30239559
- ACG: psyllium the only recommended fiber supplement — pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC4415970
Prices and star ratings are point-in-time snapshots and move around. Where a figure could not be confirmed from a manufacturer label or retailer listing, this page says so rather than estimating.