Guide
Does LactoJoy work? A 14,500 FCC lactase tablet from Germany, against the trial doses
Quick answer
Does LactoJoy work? No trial of LactoJoy was found. One tablet is labeled at 14,500 FCC of lactase, close to the 13,500 FCC (three 4,500 FCC tablets) that lowered breath hydrogen 55% against placebo in 47 adults given 25 g of lactose. A half tablet, about 7,250 FCC, is below that dose, and in an uncontrolled test of 15,000 units 60% of 96 patients had no change. On Amazon, 81% of 4,900 ratings on the 80 count are five-star, and 54 of 230 effectiveness mentions are negative.

LactoJoy is a lactase tablet, one active enzyme, sold in a slim sliding tin by a German company. Each scored tablet is labeled at 14,500 FCC of lactase, taken just before a dairy meal. This page sets out the label, the doses the lactase trials used, what the one certificate of analysis covers, what reviewers report, the refund pages and the cost.
What LactoJoy is, and what it is not
The Supplement Facts panel on the U.S. carton lists one active, lactase enzyme at 139.3 mg per tablet, with no proprietary blend. The unit that matters, FCC (Food Chemicals Codex), is not on the panel: the carton front prints “Contains 14,500 FCC… of lactase enzyme per serving,” and the brand and Amazon text repeat it. The other ingredients are maltodextrin, organic potato starch and magnesium salts of fatty acids from vegetable sources, and the label does not name the organism the enzyme comes from. The tablet weighs 0.18 g and is scored, so it can be halved.
The carton calls it a dietary supplement, “NOT A DRUG.” The brand states it is free from lactose, gluten, animal products and sweeteners, and Amazon calls it vegan. The 45 and 80 count come in a metal tin; the 240 count is a refill bag. A separate 28,000 FCC capsule, LactoJoy Forte, is not covered here.
What the lactase trials used
We found no trial of LactoJoy; searches for the product name and for “14,500 FCC” in PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov returned nothing. The evidence is for lactase from other tablets, tested against a lactose load and measured with breath hydrogen, which rises when colon bacteria ferment lactose that was not digested. The milktab guide covers the trials in more detail alongside a 27,000 FCC tablet.
- 13,500 FCC: in a placebo-controlled crossover of 47 adults with breath-test-confirmed lactose intolerance, three 4,500 FCC chewable tablets taken five minutes before 25 g of lactose cut cumulative breath hydrogen over 180 minutes by 55%, and symptom scores improved. The sponsor supplied the tablets and paid for the breath tests (Baijal et al., JGH Open, 2021).
- 9,900 FCC with 50 g of lactose: three chewable tablets in whole milk lowered peak breath hydrogen against placebo in 24 lactose-intolerant adults (Sanders et al., Clinical Pharmacy, 1992).
- A large load: in a comparison of three commercial products measured in IU, a different unit from FCC, breath hydrogen fell with 20 g of lactose, but with 50 g in water the effect at about 3,000 and 6,000 IU was not significant (Lin et al., Digestive Diseases and Sciences, 1993).
- Variable response at 15,000 units: in an uncontrolled test of 96 patients given two 7,500 unit tablets with 25 g of lactose, the breath test turned negative in 21.9% and was unchanged in 60.4% (Ibba et al., BioMed Research International, 2014).
One LactoJoy tablet at 14,500 FCC is 107% of the 13,500 FCC trial dose and 146% of the 9,900 FCC dose. A half tablet, which the brand puts at about 7,250 FCC, is 54% of the 13,500 FCC trial dose. The brand allows up to 10 tablets a day, and one reviewer reports taking eight to fifteen for cheese, which fits the wide variation in the 96-patient test.
Lactase acts only on lactose. It does not change how the body handles other food sugars, milk protein or fat, so it fits a pattern where dairy is the specific trigger.
How to take LactoJoy
The carton says to take one tablet just before eating foods that contain dairy, and that more can be taken to suit individual needs. The brand page adds that the tablet can be swallowed, chewed or halved, with no more than 10 tablets a day. Amazon’s text says to take it with the first bite or sip of dairy. The trial gave lactase five minutes before the lactose, so the label timing sits inside that range. It is dosed per dairy meal, not on a daily schedule.
What the testing covers
The brand page says every batch is tested by independent, accredited German laboratories and links a certificate from AGROLAB LUFA in Kiel, issued in 2024, for one sample. It reports an aerobic plate count, E. coli, molds, yeasts, four metals and four polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, and concludes the sample is marketable in Germany. It does not report lactase activity, a batch number or any U.S. standard. We found no NSF, USP or Informed Choice mark, so the 14,500 FCC figure has no independent confirmation that we could find.
Side effects and who should not take it
The carton says to consult a doctor if discomfort continues after use or is unusual, and not to use the product if the seal is broken. We found no pregnancy, breastfeeding, medication or age statement on the carton or brand page; the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database lists the target group as adults and children 4 or more years of age. We found no milk, soy, egg, tree nut or sesame statement and no shared-facility statement, so a person with an allergy to any of those should check the carton. On Amazon, 20 of 73 side-effect mentions on the 45 count are negative and 3 of 27 on the 240 count; the summary does not say what the effects were.
What the reviews say
| Platform | Score | Count | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon, 80 count | 4.6 of 5 | 4,900 ratings | 81% five-star; independent |
| Brand site, 80 count page | 4.8 | 299 reviews | Self-hosted widget |
| Trustpilot | 3.1 | 3 reviews | One five-star, two one-star |
| Better Business Bureau | No profile | 0 | No listing found |
The 45 count (4.6 from 1,422 ratings) and 240 count refill (4.9 from 2,267) are separate Amazon listings, so there is no single combined figure. On the 80 count, about 8% of ratings are one or two stars. Amazon’s summary of review text counts 230 mentions of effectiveness, 176 positive and 54 negative, and 47 of value for money, 24 positive and 23 negative. The recurring praise is that one small tablet is enough, that it does not crumble, that it has no aftertaste and that the tin fits in a purse. The recurring complaints are that it did not work or that several tablets were needed, and that the tin “will slide open very easily.” Trustpilot has three reviews on a profile that says the company has not recently invited reviews; the two one-star reviews concern the withdrawal right and slow service.
The refund and subscription terms
A banner on the brand’s store reads “Test us without risk: 30 days money back guarantee.” The refund page we read does not repeat it: it states a right to revoke the contract within 14 days without giving reasons, with return costs on the customer, in European wording. The terms behind the 30-day banner are not stated on the pages we read. The 80 count has a subscription at 5% off, every one to four months, described as cancellable at any time, and the same discount applies when buying two or more packs. Amazon orders follow Amazon’s standard returns. We found no reviewer complaint about unexpected subscription charges, though the brand widget shows only four- and five-star reviews.
Who makes LactoJoy
LactoJoy is made by better foods GmbH of Göttingen, Germany, which the carton, the NIH label database and Amazon’s seller profile name. Amazon shows 100% positive seller feedback over 12 months from 86 ratings. Whether a different plant makes the tablets is not stated.
Who LactoJoy is for
- Someone whose gas, bloating or loose stools follow dairy and who wants a single tablet to carry.
- A person who finds a lower-dose caplet too small and wants a dose closer to the 13,500 FCC trial dose.
Lactaid Fast Act is the established comparison, at 9,000 FCC per caplet as the brand states it. For milk poured at home, Seeking Health Lactase Drops are added to the milk ahead of time. If dairy is not the only trigger, Do digestive enzymes work? covers the enzyme evidence, the bloating and gas guide starts from the symptom, and the quiz matches symptoms to products.
Cost
| Route | Price | Per tablet | Per 1,000 FCC |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon, 45 tablets | $19.99 | $0.44 | $0.031 |
| Amazon, 80 tablets | $29.99 | $0.37 | $0.026 |
| Amazon, 240 tablet refill | $79.99 | $0.33 | $0.023 |
| Lactaid Fast Act, one caplet | about $0.20 | $0.20 | $0.022 |
The brand site charges the same prices, with $4.95 shipping under $29.99 and $28.49 a pack on subscription or for two or more packs. One tablet per dairy meal costs the per-tablet figure; a half tablet costs half.
The products in this catalog
Common questions
Does LactoJoy work?
No trial of LactoJoy was found. One tablet has 14,500 FCC of lactase, slightly more than the 13,500 FCC (three 4,500 FCC tablets) that cut breath hydrogen by 55% against placebo in 47 adults given 25 g of lactose. On Amazon 81% of 4,900 ratings on the 80 count are five-star, and 54 of 230 effectiveness mentions are negative.
Is LactoJoy safe, and what are the side effects?
The only active is lactase enzyme, and the carton calls it a dietary supplement, not a drug, and says to consult a doctor if discomfort continues or is unusual. The brand says not to take more than 10 tablets a day. On Amazon, 20 of 73 side-effect mentions on the 45 count are negative and 3 of 27 on the 240 count, and the summary does not say what the effects were.
How many LactoJoy tablets should you take, and can you cut one in half?
The carton says one tablet just before dairy, with more allowed to suit individual needs and a ceiling of 10 tablets a day. The tablet is scored and the brand says halving it gives about 7,250 FCC, which is 54% of the 13,500 FCC trial dose. It can be swallowed or chewed.
How much does LactoJoy cost?
On Amazon, 45 tablets are $19.99 ($0.44 a tablet), 80 are $29.99 ($0.37) and a 240 tablet refill is $79.99 ($0.33). The brand site charges the same, with $4.95 shipping under $29.99, and takes 5% off on subscription or when two or more packs are bought.
LactoJoy vs Lactaid: which has more lactase?
LactoJoy prints 14,500 FCC per tablet and Lactaid Fast Act is stated at 9,000 FCC per caplet, so one tablet is about 1.6 caplets. Neither has a trial of its own product in the sources we read. Per 1,000 FCC, the Amazon 80 count is $0.026 and Lactaid at about $0.20 a caplet is $0.022.
Who makes LactoJoy, and what is its refund policy?
LactoJoy is made by better foods GmbH of Göttingen, Germany, which also sells it on Amazon. The store banner promises a 30-day money-back guarantee, but the refund page we read states only a 14-day right to withdraw, with return costs on the customer. Trustpilot shows 3.1 from three reviews, and the Better Business Bureau has no profile.
Is LactoJoy third-party tested?
The brand links a 2024 certificate from the German laboratory AGROLAB LUFA covering microbes, heavy metals and four hydrocarbons in one sample. It does not report lactase activity, so the 14,500 FCC figure is not independently confirmed. We found no NSF, USP or Informed Choice mark.
Sources
- Baijal R, et al. Lactase tablets (3 x 4,500 FCC) in adults with lactose intolerance: randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled crossover, 47 adults. JGH Open, 2021. PMID 33490624. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/33490624
- Sanders SW, et al. Lactase tablets (9,900 FCC) with 50 g lactose in lactose-intolerant adults: randomized, double-blind crossover, 24 subjects. Clinical Pharmacy, 1992. PMID 1534729. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/1534729
- Lin MY, et al. Three commercial lactase products at two doses with 20 g and 50 g lactose. Digestive Diseases and Sciences, 1993. PMID 8223076. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/8223076
- Ibba I, et al. Lactase (A. oryzae), 15,000 units with 25 g lactose in 96 patients: uncontrolled before-and-after test. BioMed Research International, 2014. PMID 24967391. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/24967391
- NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database: LactoJoy lactase tablets, label 305466 (Supplement Facts, directions, manufacturer, target group). dsld.od.nih.gov/label/305466
- AGROLAB LUFA GmbH: certificate of analysis for LactoJoy lactase tablets, linked from the brand page. cdn.shopify.com
- LactoJoy brand pages: 80 count product page, refund policy, shipping policy and legal notice: directions, price, refund and company details.
- Amazon listings for the 80 count (B012FWSLX8), 45 count (B072XWGMS2) and 240 count (B01MUCUH76): price, rating and review summary.
- Independent profile: Trustpilot.
Not sure which product fits your situation?
This guide covers the mechanics. The quiz takes your specific symptoms, routine and preferences and matches you to one product from the catalog.
Take the quiz →